If you need a break from the constant buzzing of your phone from messages, it is a good idea to just delete your WhatsApp account as it has become the primary source of contact for many.
However, before you go ahead and delete your WhatsApp account, let’s also understand what happens to the account data when we choose to remove WhatsApp number.
What Happens When You Delete Your WhatsApp Account?
- It is always advisable to create a backup of all your media and chat before you delete your WhatsApp account. It has to be a manual process because when you choose to delete, it will remove all backup as well. We have talked about it in the end.
- You can always re-register your account with the same mobile number, but that will not retrieve the lost chat history.
- Once you delete your WhatsApp, you will be removed from all the contacts of your friends, family, etc., and also from all the common WhatsApp groups.
- Your message history will be erased.
- Once you delete your WhatsApp account, your Google Drive or iCloud Drive backup will also be deleted.
- All the service payment information on your WhatsApp servers will be removed automatically.
- You can’t regain access to your account.
In short, once you delete your WhatsApp account, it will leave no trace of your ever being on the platform.
How To Delete Your WhatsApp Account Permanently
Step 1: Open WhatsApp on your phone.
Step 2: Tap on the three-dot overflow menu resent at the top right corner of your screen. On the iPhone, you need to go to the Settings tab.
Step 3: Tap the last option ‘Settings’ followed by ‘Account.’
Step 4: Tap ‘Delete my account.’
Step 5: Enter your mobile number along with your country name and code. Then Click ‘DELETE MY ACCOUNT’ mentioned in the red colored box.
Step 6: You will be required to select a reason as to why you are deleting your account. You will also be asked to give your opinion or suggestions as to ‘How can we improve.’ You might or might not answer this as it is totally optional.
Step 7: Finally tap ‘DELETE MY ACCOUNT’ at the bottom of the screen, and your WhatsApp account will be deleted.
How to manually take a backup of WhatsApp Chat, Images, and Photos?
Since the cloud backup will be removed when you choose to delete your account, here is how you can manually back up all your WhatsApp data.
Step 1: Open the WhatsApp group of which you want to take a backup
Step 2: Tap on the three-dot overflow menu button followed by ‘More,’ and then on ‘Export Chat.’
Step 3: This will open the Share menu where you can select any third-party app. All chats are saved into a text file, while media files are individually added. They are not archived.
While you can share anywhere, I would highly recommend backing up your WhatsApp chat history on Google Drive. Create a folder with the name WhatsApp Backup, and then another with the name of the group. Export Group backup into respective folders, which will help to find data when needed quickly.
FAQs: Delete or Remove WhatsApp Account
How to delete Whatsapp account from the web?
You can only delete WhatsApp Account using the mobile app.
How to delete WhatsApp account from your old phone?
Assuming you only want WhatsApp on your new phone and don’t want to delete your WhatsApp account permanently, simply uninstall the app from your old device. Make sure to take a backup of your data before deleting the PP though.
What if I delete my WhatsApp account, can I get my messages back?
No, there is no way to get back data after an account is deleted. You can always reactivate the number on WhatsApp though.
If I delete my WhatsApp account, can my friends see my number in their chat history?
Your messages will remain in your friend’s chat history. They will not be deleted even if you delete your account. Your number, however, will not be visible since it would have been deleted.
If I delete my WhatsApp account, can I reactivate it?
Yes, you can, but the old messages will not be available.
How to remove Google Account from Whatsapp?
Go to WhatsApp Settings > Chats > Chat backup > Google Drive settings, and tap on the Google Account. If you have an alternate account added to the smartphone, then it will be on the list. Select to switch. Future backups will be taken into the newly selected Gmail account. Do note that Google Drive backup is only available on WhatsApp for Android. On iPhone, WhatsApp integrates and saves backups to iCloud.