There is no doubt that Twitter is one of the most used and helpful platforms out there via which you can stay up to date with the latest news, interact with like-minded people, and more. But, it can also turn out to be the best platform for trolls to spew hatred. If you are frustrated with Twitter due to some reason or the other and want to get rid of it for good, you can delete your Twitter account or just deactivate it temporarily.

Twitter only offers the option to deactivate one’s account. However, it has been implemented in such a manner that it can be used to temporarily disable or permanently delete your account.

What to Know Before Deactivating your Twitter account

  • If you want to change your username or email address, you can simply do it using the Account Settings. You do not need to deactivate your account for the same.
  • If you are planning to use your existing Twitter handle or email address on some other account, you are first required to change them and then confirm the change before deactivating your Twitter account.
  • Twitter does not control the content indexed by any of the search engines; for example, Google or Bing.
  • If you deactivate your Twitter account, your display name, username as well as your public profile will no longer be viewable on Twitter.com, Twitter for Android and Twitter for iOS.
  • The good thing is if your mind changes within 30 days, you even have the option to retrieve your deleted Twitter account. However, after this time period passes, Twitter will start purging all your data from its system. The moment it is done, your account will be deleted forever.

Related: How to delete or deactivate Facebook account

How to Delete Twitter Account on Web, Android, and iPhone

There are three ways to delete your Twitter account. While most of us have phones, so it is rather straightforward, but you can also use the browser to do the same.

How to Delete your Twitter Account on Web

Step 1: Sign in to your Twitter account. Click ‘More’ and then ‘Settings and Privacy.’

Step 2: Click ‘Deactivate your account’ located under the Account section.

Delete twitter Account Web

Step 3: Select’ Deactivate.’ You will be asked to enter your password. Enter your password and click ‘Deactivate Account.’

How to Delete your Twitter Account on Android

Step 1: Either tap to your profile icon or the hamburger menu at the top of the screen depending upon the version of your app

Step 2: Select ‘Settings and Privacy’ and choose ‘Account.’ Click the option ‘Deactivate your Account.’

deactivate twitter account android

Step 3: Click ‘Deactivate’ after which you will be asked to enter your password. Enter your password, tap ‘Deactivate,’ and finally tap ‘Yes.’

How to Delete your Twitter Account from iPhone

Step 1: Select your profile icon present at the top of the screen.

Step 2: Select ‘Settings and Privacy’ and choose ‘Account.’ Click ‘Deactivate Your Account.’

Step 4: Select ‘Deactivate,’ after which you will be asked to enter your password. Tap ‘Deactivate’ and finally click ‘Yes.’

How to Recover Deactivated Twitter Account?

You can do so within 30 days of the request for deactivation.

  • Log in to your Twitter account with the same user id password on the web or app
  • Enter your login credentials.
  • Before you are signed in, a prompt will appear asking if you want to reactivate your account.
  • If you choose to reactivate, you’ll be redirected to your Home timeline.

Pots this, Twitter will slowly start restoring your account. Depending on how active you were, this may take a while.

How to Reactivate Your Twitter if You Are Close to 30 Days from the Date of Deactivation?

After 30 days, Twitter starts purging data from your account. Since it is not instant, the chances are that you may be able to reactivate the account even after 30 days. However, it may be a partial recovery.

According to Twitter Help, if it is close to 30 days from the date of deactivation, you can ask a support agent to help you reactivate your account.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.