delete telegram account forever

Telegram is one of the most popular alternatives to WhatsApp as it is more feature-rich and secure, but like every other messenger service, too many conversations can get boring and frustrating. If you have decided to distance yourself or get rid of Telegram, then follow this guide to permanently delete the Telegram account.

What Happens When You Delete Your Telegram Account?

You should always remember that once you delete your Telegram account, you cannot get it back. Even if you download and install Telegram again, later on, all your chats, groups, contact list, etc. will be deleted permanently.

Export or Backup Your Telegram Data

Before deleting your Telegram account, you would always want to export your precious data such as photos, chats, videos, or other media. For this, you will be required the latest version of Telegram Desktop, which will help you to download your data in HTML or JSON formats. Follow these steps:

Step 1: Open Telegram Desktop and tap ‘Settings.’

Step 2: Next tap on the Advanced settings followed by the ‘Export Telegram Data’ available under data and storage.

backup Telegram Data

Step 3: Click to ‘Export Chat History’ and select the type of data (photos, videos, audio files, etc.) you want to export.

save telegram data as HTMLStep 4: You can now easily view your data in offline mode.

During the export process, you will see each group data being backed up, the name of the images, and so on. While you may close the export window, keep the Telegram running in the background.

You should be able to open the file in any browser to access all the chats.

How To Delete Telegram Account Permanently

There are two ways by which one can delete their Telegram account

  1. Adjusting Self- Destruction Settings
  2. Manual Method

Delete Your Telegram Account by Adjusting Self- Destruction Settings

The period given for self-destruction by default in Telegram is six months, but one can reduce this period to a shorter period of time. This is useful if you want your Telegram account to automatically self-destruct itself after a certain period of inactivity.

Auto Delete Telegram Account Permanently

Step 1: Log in to the Telegram account and choose ‘Settings’ and then Tap to ‘Privacy and Security.’

Step 2: Scroll down and select ‘Delete my account if away for.’ Change the default settings from 6 months to 1 month, three months, or one year as per your choice.

Step 3: If you have selected one month and you do not use your account for one month, your account will automatically be deleted along with all your contacts and chats.

Steps to Delete Your Telegram Account Manually

There is no direct ‘delete my account’ option available here. This is to be done by using a web browser, either on your phone or computer.

Step 1:  Go to  https://my.telegram.org/auth?to=deactivate and enter your account phone number in the correct international format which is +(Country Code) (City or Carrier Code) (Your Mobile number)

Step 2: Enter the confirmation code, which will be sent to your above-mentioned mobile number and your Telegram account as well. Click the ‘Sign In’ button.

How To Delete Telegram Account Permanently

Step 3:  Next, click on the Delete account link, and it will take you to the next screen. Here, you will be asked to give a reason for quitting/ leaving Telegram. If you want, you can either provide a reason or can skip this step by clicking the ‘Delete My Account’ button.

Step 4: You will be asked, ‘Are You Sure’? Click ‘Yes, delete my account.’

How To Delete Telegram Account Permanently

After this, Your account will be deleted, and you will be logged out of all devices.

FAQ: Delete Telegram Account

An old contact appeared again, but it’s not the same person?

It is known that phone numbers are recycled. If you have an old number of the contact, when he or she joins Telegram again, you will be notified about it.

Can I reactivate the deleted Telegram account?

Yes, you can. However, it will not link back to old chats and accounts in the way it was earlier. It will be a free conversation, and you will have to be included in the group again.

Can I get back all messages when I reactivate my Telegram account?

No. If you have taken a backup, you can still view the message via the backup, but not within the Telegram app.

Can I temporarily deactivate the Telegram account?

No. This feature is not available. However, if you are taking a break, change the auto account deletion time, and reinstall when you are ready.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.