Instagram is among the most popular social media platforms out there. It is used by over a billion people on almost a daily basis. While Instagram can be a boon for content creators, it can also suck you in, and you can get addicted to it in no time. In this post, I will show how you can deactivate or delete your Instagram account.
Addicted to Instagram?
If you have already become an Instagram addict so much that you even download videos from Instagram, you can look into temporarily deactivating your account. It is also a great option if you want to take a temporary hiatus from the platform and focus on other things in your life. You also have the extreme option of permanently deleting your Instagram account if you want to get off the platform for good.
Both these methods are only available via the web and not through the mobile application. You can either use a computer or open Instagram on the web to complete the steps.
How to Temporarily Deactivate your Instagram account
Step 1: One cannot disable the Instagram account from the Instagram app. You need to log into instagram.com from either your computer or mobile browser and log in to your Instagram account.
Step 2: After logging in, click on the Profile icon present at the top right corner to access your profile.
Step 3: Click the ‘Edit Profile’ button near your profile picture.
Step 4: Scroll down and click the ‘Temporarily disable my account’ option at the bottom right corner.
Step 5: Instagram will take you to a page where you will be asked ‘Why are you disabling your account?’ Choose an option from the given menu as per your reason to deactivate and re-enter your password.
Step 6: Click on the ‘Temporarily Deactivate My Account’ option. Confirm the same by clicking the ‘OK’ option.
What happens when you deactivate your Instagram account?
When you choose to disable your account temporarily, the system will hide you from others. Your Instagram profile, photos, comments, and likes will be hidden from others, and you will not be able to interact with anyone.
How to Permanently Delete Instagram Account
Step 1: Go to the Permanently Delete Your Account page on Instagram. Log into your account if you have not already done so. You cannot delete your Instagram account from the Android or iPhone app.
Step 2: You need to answer the ‘Why are you deleting your account?’ question. Without this, you won’t be able to delete your Instagram account. Re-enter your password for confirmation purposes.
Step 3: Click on the ‘Permanently Delete My Account’ option. Confirm the same by clicking the ‘OK’ option.
What happens when you delete your Instagram account?
Once you delete your Instagram account, all your photos, posts, likes, comments, followers, etc., will be permanently removed. You will not be able to recover it ever again. Also, you cannot sign up again on Instagram using the same username.
If you do not want to delete your Instagram account permanently, you can look into deactivating it.
I hope these methods were easy to follow, and you were able to either temporarily deactivate or permanently delete the Instagram account.
Should I delete my Instagram account?
Frankly no. Temporary deactivation is a better choice, but you may choose to remove the account if things have gone over your head. Be aware that once you opt-in for permanent deletion, it cannot be recovered.
Will my account be deleted if I uninstall Instagram?
No, it will remain active. It is like any other program you can remove from your phone but doesn’t delete the associated account. If you access Instagram only from your phone, this is also a great way to stop using Instagram for some time.