Are you ashamed of your embarrassing username, which you created years ago, and want to get rid of the same? Then it is the right time to delete your Gmail and Google account and use a different email service or create a new account. This post guides you through steps to delete Gmail account and delete the Google Account.
Deleting Gmail Account Deletes Google Account?
When you delete your Gmail, it is a permanent process. Once you delete it, all your emails and account settings will be erased. Neither will you be able to send any mail, nor receive the same.
However, deleting your Gmail account will not entirely delete the Google Account with which the email address is associated with. You may still have access to other Google Account services, for example, Google Play, Google Drive, Google Photos, Google Calendar, etc. Gmail will ask you to provide an alternative email address for such activities.
I guess it is clear that if your Delete your Google Account, you lose access to everything connected with Google.
How to Delete Gmail Account
Step 1: Log into your Gmail Account. Then click on the Account icon on the top right, and it will open the fly-out menu.
Step 2: Click on The Manage Your Google Account button to open My Account settings. To get access to the data, activity, and preferences, click on Data and Personalization Link.
Step 3: Under Data and Personalization, locate the “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data” section. Click on the “Delete a Service or Your Account” link.
Step 4: Verify with the Gmail or Google Account Password. Once verified, it will list down the services that can be deleted.
Step 5: Click the trash icon presented next to “Gmail”; You will be prompted to enter an alternate email address for verification. Tap ‘Send Verification Email’
Step 6: You will receive an email from Google. Follow the deletion link in the message. If prompted, log into that Gmail account that you wish to delete.
Step 7: “Yes, I want to delete ……@gmail.com”. Tap “Delete Gmail” and click “Done.”
It is pertinent to mention that you need to contact the administrator if you are using a Gmail account through your office, school, or any other group. In such a scenario, it is only the administrator who can delete your Gmail account.
How To Delete Google Account
Step 1: Go to Delete a Service or Your Google Account, and sign-in with the account you wish to delete.
Step 2: Click on the Delete Your Account link, and verify by entering the Google Account password.
Step 3: It will open the “Delete your Google Account” page where you can download your account data and the list of content, services that will be removed from the account.
Step 4: Some of the services will need your acknowledgment individually. In the end, you will have to confirm to final acknowledgment and a final confirmation. You may be prompted again to type DELETE MY ACCOUNT as the last confirmation.
When you delete your Google account permanently, all the contents present in your Google Photos, Google Drive, etc., will be lost automatically. You will no longer be able to access that information. Apart from these, you will also not have access to various subscriptions purchased on Google Play, YouTube for various TV shows, games, music, etc. If there is a Google Chrome browser attached/synced with your deleted Google Account, all the browsed information, history, and bookmarks will also be deleted.
FAQ: Delete Your Gmail And Google Account
How do I permanently delete my Google account?
You can delete it by following the options available under Delete a Service or Your Google Account. Be aware that once you delete it, you cannot retrieve data if it’s too late.
How do I remove an account from Google?
If you mean by removing the account from Android Phone or Tablet, then go to Settings > User and Accounts, and then choose to remove that particular account.
How to recover a deleted Google or Gmail Account?
It is possible to recover a deleted account, but it depends on how quickly you take action and how accurately you provide the details. Google Recovery page clearly mentions—Recover a recently deleted Google Account.
If it’s been a while since you deleted your account, you may not be able to recover the data in your account. If you recover your account, you’ll be able to sign in as usual to Gmail, Google Play, and other Google services.
Go to the Account recovery page. Here you will have to answer a lot of questions about your account. Google recommends using a device or browser which you have used frequently used that account.
Along with this, you will have to enter passwords & answers to security questions, email connected to your account, and other related questions.
I hope the post was easy to follow, and you were able to delete Google account and delete Gmail Account as well.